truthful perceptions: anything…

It was a very interesting dynamic for me to witness. Generally, as domestic violence goes, the vast number of cases I see are abuse upon women by men. I witnessed the reverse today in how the verbal abuse from a woman to a man was just as cruel, damaging and long lasting to the mind and soul of the victim.

In one of my professional roles, I am a Personal Fitness Trainer. One of my clients had to cancel a booked session last week at the last minute. As per my contract, a cancellation fee is applied if you cancel less than 24 hours of the time booked.

I went to pickup that fee today and as I drove up to the home, I could hear a raised voice coming from the window. The words were profane, weaponized and intent to inflict the greatest amount of harm without spilling one drop of blood.

My client in seeing me through the window walking to the door, said he would meet me outside. In other words, don’t come in here. His girlfriend took one look at me and was crude, rude and filled with a nasty demonic attitude.

My friend came out to meet me and quickly apologized. He informed me this is why he has just plunked down six figures to buy his own condo and to get as far away from her as possible. His eyes were sunken in and he looked demoralized.

I encouraged him to know his choice to leave was the wisest move he could make. Although he was obviously embarrassed to have me to witness his latest verbal bashing at the mouth of his girlfriend, I told him there is absolutely nothing for him to be ashamed of.

I made him understand I would have been ashamed of him if he, in turn, raised a hand to her to physically retaliate, but instead it took much more courage for him to have the wisdom to pack up his belongings and to walk away. Only a coward of a man in his ignorance would strike a woman in retaliation.

Masculinity is not defined by how much more physically stronger a man is to a woman. It is measured by the internal scale of a man to weigh his character, his strengths and his confidence in knowing his worth. That is what true masculinity is all about.

I pray for her deliverance in finding what demons haunt and possess her mind and soul and casting them out in the name of Christ Jesus. I pray his opportunity to nurture forgiveness and pray for her. At one point there must have been love between them, which means there is always hope for reconciliation. Whether a man to a woman or a woman to a man, abuse is abuse and it is ugly, but two heads on one pillow can overcome anything. 

Music: “Forgiveness…” by Russel Blake

Russel Blake Music on iTunes

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

